I-League: Gokulam Kerala Script Incredible Comeback To Clinch Maiden Title | Football News

Gokulam Kerala FC on Saturday clinched their maiden I-League title in spectacular trend as they got here again from a aim right down to beat TRAU 4-1 within the last match of the season. Bidyashagar Singh’s twenty third minute strike did little to cease the Gokulam juggernaut as objectives by Sharif Mohamed (69th), Emil Benny (74th), Dennis Antwi (77th) and Mohammad Rashid (90+6) handed them the trophy. With Churchill Brothers successful 3-2 in opposition to Punjab FC within the day’s different match held concurrently at one other venu, Gokulam shared factors (29) with the Goan aspect however had been topped champions on head-to-head document.

In the 2 matches the 2 sides had performed within the season, Churchill had received 3-2 as soon as whereas Gokulam had emerged 3-0 victorious within the different.

Gokulam thus certified for the group stage of the AFC Cup subsequent season, Asia’s second tier membership competitors, as I-League champions. They additionally grew to become the primary aspect from Kerala to win the I-League title. The successful workforce’s coach Vincenzo Alberto Annese couldn’t disguise his pleasure at his gamers’ achievement.

“This is the best day of my life. I feel so happy and I feel amazing to be crowned a champion. I am immensely proud of my team and we deserved to be champions. We outscored all teams and we have played like champions in this season,” Annese stated.

“This means everything to me. This is my first season in India and it has already been a very special one. We have a very special team and nobody plays the style of football that we play,” he added.

Bidyshagar, a revelation within the I-League very like his workforce TRAU, opened the scoring when he produced a superb end from exterior the field within the twenty third minute. Just after resumption, Chanso Horam had a golden alternative at hand TRAU their second aim of the match however his chip shot went inches over the bar, following a fantastic counter-attacking transfer.

Gokulam ahead Dennis Antwi failed to search out the web within the 62nd minute as his header went agonisingly large off an Emil Benny cross from the fitting flank. Sharif Mohamed’s free kick within the 69th minute from the sting of the field grabbed the equaliser for Gokulam Kerala FC.

The comeback was nicely on target within the 74th minute when Emil Benny tussled previous his marker and slotted dwelling via Amrit Gope’s legs at hand Gokulam the lead. Three minutes later, Dennis Antwi scored to increase the lead. After TRAU participant Vincy Barreto was despatched off within the added time, Mohammed Rashid scored the fourth aim for Gokulam, including extra gloss to finish the outstanding comeback.

In the opposite match, Churchill surged into the lead within the ninth minute when Clayvin Zuniga was introduced down contained in the field. Off the resultant penalty, Slovenian striker Luka Majcen transformed from the spot by sending rival custodian Jaspreet Singh the improper means.

Churchill doubled their lead within the twenty fifth minute via Zuniga who scored his second aim within the first half added time to offer the Goan aspect a 3-0 lead. Facing an uphill process, Punjab FC managed to drag one again within the sixty fifth minute via Joseba Beitia and added one other 4 minutes later via Papa Diawara.


Gokulam pocketed Rs 1 crore as prize cash whereas the second, third and fourth-placed groups within the desk acquired Rs 60 lakh, Rs 40 lakh and Rs 25 lakh respectively.

Bidyashagar Singh (TRAU) received the very best aim scorer award (Rs 2.5 lakh) together with Hero of the League Award (Rs 5 lakh). The Best goalkeeper award (Rs 2.5 lakh) went to Kiran Limbu of Punjab FC. Syed Abdul Rahim Award for finest coach went to Nandakumar Singh of TRAU.

Topics talked about on this article

Source link

Back to top button