Trending Stories

High-Stakes Bengal Polls Start Today With 30 Seats Voting

West Bengal Assembly Election: Mamata Banerjee visited all 30 constituencies throughout her marketing campaign. (File)

New Delhi:

Voting for the high-decibel election to the West Bengal legislative meeting begins immediately and can proceed in seven extra phases until April 29. People will vote for his or her alternative amongst 191 candidates in 30 constituencies on this part. The Election Commission has arrange 10,288 cubicles the place individuals can vote on this part.

Most of those 30 seats are unfold throughout tribal-dominated Purulia, Bankura, Jhargram, Purba Medinipur (Part 1) and Paschim Medinipur (Part 1) districts. Bengal has a complete of 294 meeting seats.

26 of the 30 constituencies the place voting can be held immediately had voted for Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress (TMC) within the final meeting elections. But the BJP swept them within the 2019 Lok Sabha election.

The BJP deployed the mix would possibly of its key leaders, together with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in an intense marketing campaign within the constituencies going to the polls immediately. Home Minister Amit Shah, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Union Minister Smriti Irani have been amongst high BJP leaders who campaigned in a number of of the 30 seats, together with Purulia, Jhargram and Bankura districts.

Actor Mithun Chakraborty, who joined the BJP weeks in the past, campaigned for get together candidates in Jangalmahal and Bankura.

Ms Banerjee visited all of the 30 constituencies throughout her marketing campaign. She held a rally in a few of the 30 seats even after she suffered a leg harm throughout a political occasion in Nandigram, from the place she is contesting the election.

A line of assault generally seen between the 2 rivals – BJP and Trinamool Congress – is the promise of “ashol poriborton (real change)” and constructing a “Sonar Bangla (prosperous Bengal)”.

Ms Banerjee typically took a swipe on the BJP as a celebration of “outsiders”. She used the slogan “khela hobe (game on)” in a swipe at PM Modi throughout rallies.

The key candidates within the first part are: Trinamool’s Sujoy Banerjee, BJP’s Sudip Mukherjee and the Congress’s Partha Prathim Banerjee in Purulia; Trinamool’s June Malia, BJP’s Shamit Dash and CPI(M)’s Tarun Kumar Ghosh in Medinipur; Trinamool’s Dinen Ray, BJP’s Tapan Bhuiya and CPI(M)’s Saddam Ali from Kharagpur, amongst others.

The BJP has fielded candidates in 293 seats and left one for its ally All Jharkhand Students Union, headed by Ashutosh Mahto. Ms Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress has allotted three seats to Bimal Gurung’s Gorkha Janmukti Morcha and can contest in the remainder. Mr Gurung’s get together is seen to be robust within the hills of north Bengal.

The Congress, CPI(M) and the Indian Secular Front have made an alliance. The Congress is contesting 91, Left 137 and Abbas Siddiqui’s ISF 28.

Counting of votes is on May 2.

Source link

Back to top button