Trending Stories

Chief Minister Sonowal Among Big Names In 1st Phase Of Assam Polls

Assam Assembly Election: Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal will look to defend his Majuli seat

New Delhi:

The first of three phases of the 2021 Assam Assembly election started in the present day with Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, state Congress chief Ripun Borah and Speaker Hitendranath Goswami among the many greatest names on the ballots.

The first part sees the complete Upper Assam area voting, in addition to components of Central Assam. Overall, 47 of 126 constituencies will vote on this part, with the BJP-AGP mix and the Congress-led ‘mahajot (grand alliance)’ anticipated to be the foremost gamers.

The BJP swept these seats within the 2016 election, successful 35 constituencies.

This election has been pitched as a battle between the BJP’s ’10 guarantees’ and the Congress’ ‘5 ensures’, with the votes of tea backyard employees a attainable key issue.

Chief Minister Sonowal will look to defend his Majuli seat- a reserved constituency that’s one in all Asia’s greatest river islands – and win a second time period for the BJP and himself. That final bit is unsure, on condition that the celebration has not recognized him as their chief ministerial candidate.

To win his seat Mr Sonowal is banking on how Majuli has reworked over the previous 5 years; it’s now a district, has higher roads, and a bridge to the mainland has been promised.

His main opponent would be the Congress’ Rajib Lochan Pegu; the three-time former MLA and minister has accused the BJP of appropriating work performed by earlier Congress governments.

Interestingly, the Congress-led alliance has additionally not projected a chief ministerial candidate.

Outgoing Speaker Hitendranath Goswami will combat former MLA Rana Goswami of the Congress for Jorhat and Assam Congress chief Ripun Borah will face sitting BJP MLA Utpal Bora from Gohpur.

Another large title on the ballots in the present day is activist and Raijor Dal chief Akhil Gogoi, who’s contesting as an Independent from Sibsagar as a result of the celebration was not registered in time.

Mr Gogoi, in jail for his alleged function within the 2019 anti-CAA protests, this week alleged torture whereas in custody. His 84-year-old mom, Priyada Gogoi, is amongst those that have campaigned for him.

Also up for grabs is Titabor – the seat held for 4 successive phrases by former Chief Minister and Congress veteran Tarun Gogoi, who died in November final 12 months. One of the tallest leaders within the state, his seat sees the Congress’s Bhaskar Jyoti Barua and the BJP’s Hemanta Kalita combat it out.

Other large names in in the present day’s election are Ranjit Dutta, Naba Kumar Doley, Jogen Mohan and Terash Gowala, all of whom are BJP leaders and ministers. They will contest from Behali, Dhakuakha, Mahmora and Duliajan, respectively, with Congress leaders their foremost opponents.

Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) chief Lurinjyoti Gogoi is contesting from two seats – Duliajan and Naharkatiya – and is pitted towards the Congress in a single constituency and the BJP within the different.

The fledgling outfit – shaped final 12 months by the All Assam Students’ Union and the Assam Jatiyatabadi Yuva Chatra Parishad – is considered by some as a possible shock package deal.

Polling started at 7 am and finishes at 6 pm; timings have been prolonged by an hour to make sure Covid protocols – sporting of face masks and sustaining social distancing – are adopted. Central forces will help state authorities in sustaining legislation and order throughout voting.

Around 81 lakh individuals can be eligible to vote within the first part and over 11,000 polling cubicles have been arrange, together with almost 2,000 auxiliary stations.

The outcomes of all three phases can be declared on May 2.

Source link

Back to top button